Hello, I’m back at it yet again to talk a bit about this week’s book: The Trenchcoat by Norman Manea. On the whole, I found the book kind of confusing to read. The start feels like it throws us into the story very quickly, and we are left to try and figure it out on our own. There is also quite a bit of mystery and uncertainty throughout the book, which made it interesting, but also more difficult to understand. The whole “whose trenchcoat is this?” debacle was kind of frustrating, and I remember thinking “who cares? It’s just a jacket”. This whole ordeal seemed very petty and inconsequential to me while reading it.

In this regard, I found the lecture as well as the discussion video with Manea himself to be very helpful. I had fully missed the underlying theme that Manea was trying to highlight, that being Romanian totalitarianism and communism, but the story is starting to make more sense to me with that in mind. I was also completely unaware of what the trenchcoat signified, so I’m glad that Manea was able to clarify that it is associated with the Romanian secret police at the time.

I found the style of writing in the book to be quite interesting. For the most part, it’s just regular conversations, quite similar to that of everyday life. It kind of feels like almost nothing happens for most of it, even though things are happening, they are just subtle or seemingly insignificant at first (like The Trenchcoat). This writing style reminds me of Anton Chekhov’s plays (specifically, The Seagull), in which (like The Trenchcoat), very little happens plot-wise and much of it is communicated in plain everyday conversations. Chekhov is also known to be a ‘naturalistic’ writer, in that this seemingly boring conversational approach accurately reflects how life is most of the time. I’m not sure if this was a goal of Manea’s, but it’s interesting to think about. This sort of mundane, everyday conversational approach to The Trenchcoat can make it feel boring or slow at times, but once again, hearing Manea speak about the significance of the book in his own life and how it relates to totalitarianism and state censorship/surveillance was quite helpful and profound. I have a new appreciation and interest with this book because of it, and I think things would be a lot clearer to me if I read it a second time.

Thanks for reading my post, and I’ll be back next week to discuss Jose Saramago’s Death with Interruptions (sounds cheery!)

Question: What did you think about the fogginess and uncertainty in the book? Did you find it frustrating or interesting (or both, like me)?

3 responses to “The Trenchcoat Reflection”

  1. “…and we are left to try and figure it out on our own. There is also quite a bit of mystery and uncertainty throughout the book…” The way this story is put together is truly peculiar. It gives the impression of having been built in blocks without much articulation between them, as if they were fragments in the lives of these characters, but with information cut out, edited. There is a key to reading it, surely, but first we must decipher it, or continue interrogating the text. What if in the end there is nothing more, and we were following a decoy?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Nathan, I think that there is a purpose behind the uncertainty of the book, reflecting and mirroring the environment of the Romanian Totalitarian system. It was a time of skepticism, uncertainty, no real grasp of what was real and what wasn’t. I found it at the beginning frustrating but then interesting after having more context and understanding of what was going on.

    -domenica loor

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Nathan, I also found the uncertainty frustrating at some points, but I guess we also cannot expect to be dropped in a different time period where the characters have more context to the things happening around them and expect to understand everything. The uncertainty also lets you have different interpretations behind different symbols or character motivations, which I guess can be pretty interesting compared to a novel where everything is laid out for you.

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started